Governance

Accountable to our authorizer, our families, and our students.

2019-20 meeting schedule


Meetings of Ascend’s Board of Trustees and its committees are open to the public and held in accordance with the New York State Open Meetings Law; members of the public are encouraged to attend. Meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change, so check back for the most current information. All meetings begin at 6:30 pm unless otherwise noted. Click a meeting date to view the meeting agenda and minutes from the meeting. To access notices, agendas, and minutes from meetings held prior to July 2018, please contact the Board of Trustees at info@ascendlearning.org.

  • Wednesday, July 24, 2019

    add

    Brooklyn Ascend Charter School, 205 Rockaway Parkway, multi-purpose room (MPR) 2, Brooklyn, NY 11212

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, August 21, 2019

    add

    Brooklyn Ascend Middle School, 123 E 98th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11212

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, October 2, 2019

    add

    Ascend Learning, 205 Rockaway Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11212

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019

    add

    Bushwick Ascend Lower School, 751 Knickerbocker Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11221

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, November 13, 2019

    add

    Canarsie Ascend Middle School, 744 E 87th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11236

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, December 18, 2019

    add

    Canarsie Ascend Lower School, 9719 Flatlands Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11236

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020

    add

    East Flatbush Ascend Lower School, 870 Albany Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11203

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, February 26, 2020

    add

    Central Brooklyn Ascend Middle School, 1886 Nostrand Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11226

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, March 25, 2020

    add

    Cypress Hills Ascend Lower School, 396 Grant Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11208

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, April 22, 2020

    add

    Bushwick Ascend Middle School, 2 Aberdeen Street, Brooklyn, NY 11207

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020

    add

    Pitkin campus, 1501 Pitkin Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11212

    6:30 pm

  • Wednesday, June 24, 2020

    add

    (Annual meeting) Ascend Learning, 205 Rockaway Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11212

    6:30 pm

2018-19 meeting schedule


2018-19 committee meeting schedule


  • Education committee

    add

    All meetings will be held at Ascend Learning, 205 Rockaway Parkway, Brooklyn, beginning at 5:00 pm unless otherwise noted. Trustees may join meetings via videoconference. If you are interested in attending a meeting, please contact the Board of Trustees at (347) 464-7600 ext. 1124.

    • Monday, September 10, 2018
    • Monday, October 29, 2018
    • Monday, November 26, 2018
    • Monday, January 14, 2019
    • Monday, February 25, 2019
    • Monday, April 29, 2019
    • Friday, June 28, 2019
  • Finance committee

    add

    All meetings will be held at Ascend Learning, 205 Rockaway Parkway, Brooklyn, beginning at 4:30 pm unless otherwise noted. Trustees may join meetings via videoconference. If you are interested in attending a meeting, please contact the Board of Trustees at (347) 464-7600 ext. 1124.

    • Tuesday, August 14, 2018
    • Tuesday, October 9, 2018
    • Thursday, December 6, 2018
    • Wednesday, February 6, 2019
    • Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 3:30 pm
    • Monday, April 8, 2019
    • Wednesday, May 8, 2019
    • Wednesday, June 5, 2019
  • Nominating committee

    add

    All meetings will be held at Ascend Learning, 205 Rockaway Parkway, Brooklyn. Trustees may join meetings via videoconference. If you are interested in attending a meeting, please contact the Board of Trustees at (347) 464-7600 ext. 1124

    • Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Annual reports


View our annual reports as submitted to the New York State Education Department.

Audited financial statements


View our year-end audited financial statements.

Freedom of Information Law


View Ascend's Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) policy or make a request for records or information.

Dignity of All Students Policy